Hopeful Butterflies

18 Aug

I have to admit, as much as I love papercrafting in general, there are some trends that definitely don’t excite me *gasp*.  One of these trends has really been in my face lately-misting/paint splattering/making a mess on your beautiful project.  For me its sort of like when you see a dress that you really love, but you would never wear it yourself (I hope this happens to other people lol).  I decided I better try it out, just once. I’m being dramatic, its not that bad, its just not my thing.  I think this is mostly because dealing with any sort of “wet” supplies makes me crabby.  I’m impatient, so when I have to wait for anything to dry, it takes ALL of the fun out of it.  This is the same reason I think Mod Podge is amazing, I just never ever use it.  Funny, today I used Mod Podge AND mists.

Onward. I was cleaning up my table so I could start a new project with a clean slate when the gears started turning and I found the bits and pieces to make this card:

I was inspired by this card that the lovely Kristina Werner created.  Like I said, I don’t do misting, but I saw the negatives from my butterfly punch lying around, and I decided to cut them out and try it (with the one bottle of mist that I own because it was a giveaway).  Rule #1:  If you try this, adhere the masks.  Don’t ask how I know this, just do it.  🙂

I had everything all finished, and had even taken a photo of the card when I decided it needed something else so I stamped/embossed “hope”.  I have to say, I really like that the crisp colors balance out the “messiness” of the misting.

Bazzill cardstock, Uni-Ball Signo pen, tiny attacher, Martha Stewart 3-in-1 butterfly punch, Versamark ink, Zing embossing powder-white, Tattered Angels Glimmer Mist-sand

-B

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Hopeful Butterflies”

  1. Julie P August 21, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    I feel the same way about misting. And we probably have the same bottle from the same giveaway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

