Butterfly Whimsy

12 Aug

I apologize now for the bolus of card posts.  They’ve been piling up on my mac and I’m just now getting around to sharing.  I’ve been making things I swear!  🙂 

I originally made this card as part of a card set for a bridal shower door prize.  I needed something to round out the pile, so I dug around the ribbon drawer for something that coordinated with all of my leftover butterfly punches.  I use pre-cut cards, so this gem took me less than 2 minutes to put together…I can see duplicating this very easily.  The only downside is that it is probably best hand-delivered because of the bulk of the ribbon.

Ribbon from Hobby Lobby, butterflies-Martha Stewart 3-in-1 butterfly punch, paper-Bazzill basics cardstock, October Afternoon Seaside collection.

The ribbon technique is super easy-a trick I picked up at Archivers.  First I ran across the front of the card with my tape runner until I had a section slightly smaller than the width of the ribbon.  Then I started at one side, pressing the ribbon down, folding, pressing, etc. until I reached the end.  There is also a way to do this with a stapler (like the tiny attacher) but I thought the adhesive made it easier to get the “haphazard” look.

I left the inside blank but I can see this being used for almost anything.  The polka dots/cheeriness of the ribbon made me think birthday, so thats what this particular one got used for.

-B

Leave a Reply

