Thanks! Card

13 Jul

Don’t you just love when something you want to do overlaps with what you really need to do?  It doesn’t happen too often in my world so I jump at the opportunity. 

Remember that week-long hiatus I took last week?  Well my dear friend Lyndsey came to my house twice a day while we were gone to care for my cat family.  Thanks Lynny!!!!  A thank-you card was in order and here is what I came up with:

I recently added two red Copics to my collection (R27 and R29), so I had to try them out on the lovely Hero arts flower stamp.  I used a scrap of green Cosmo Cricket patterned paper leftover from this project along with my Cricut and the “From the Nest” cartridge for the stem.  The giant button and rafia are bits from my stash, and the little circles of hearts stamped all over the background in Versamark are from a local store-Endless Creations.

I can’t ever get enough dimension, and I knew I would be hand-delivering this so I went nuts with the biggest button I could find to stick on a flower that already had dimensional foam behind it. 

Thanks for looking!

-B

A sidenote on Copics: I am still very new and very bad at using Copics-I know that you are encouraged to buy more than one of a color, a few numbers apart, but I think I might be buying them too close in numbers?  Is that possible?  I don’t really think I’m getting much of a difference in tone.  Help!  Does anyone have any tips on this?  Any good tutorials online or otherwise?  I know Arch. is having one soon, I might have to check it out.  I need to figure this out before I invest any more of my funds…

For this project in particular, the button ended up covering most of the darker shading in the middle, but I did also add the darker color to some of the lines in the petals…and I can’t really tell.

2 Responses to “Thanks! Card”

  1. Kristen Nyholm July 13, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    I’ve heard there are a lot of Copic tutorials on YouTube. You might want to check them out! 🙂

  2. Rockwell Designs July 14, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    I love the design of this card! It is so bold and bright. Really very pretty Betsy. You may need to use 2 or 3 different colors further apart to get the look you are going for.

Leave a Reply

