the Gardens

1 Jul

I am always amazed when summer is in full bloom at my parents’ house.  They have 5 acres of riverfront property sprinkled with gardens, all very well-tended.  (You will never catch me with as many gardens…it looks like way too much work-I’ll just enjoy theirs instead.)  Everytime I go there seems to be something different in bloom, so usually when I visit, Mom wanders around the yard with me to point out everything thats new.  I’m still getting to know my dslr, so its a good opportunity to exercise my amateur photography skills.

I chose the peonies to be the main focal point of the layout because I recently learned that they aren’t just peonies.  They are a collection of split peony plants from all of my grandmas’ gardens.  They all were avid gardeners and I think its so neat that these plants came from 4 different yards and are now here, leading straight up the sidewalk, welcoming you to the front door.

In this layout, I used the coral and marigold embellishments to pull together the pink peonies, peach-colored rose, and the orange tabby.  I haven’t actually made a layout in a long time so I stepped a bit out of my normal comfort zone and added some stitching with baker’s twine and clustered embellishments.  The deer pop up twice on the second page because 1. I have some fawn embellishments that I have never ever used…its time.  and 2. There is a deer lawn ornament hidden at the edge of the yard, kept as a ruse for the boaters to laugh at when they pass by.  🙂

Patterned paper-Cosmo Cricket, Little Yellow Bicycle, October Afternoon, baker’s twine-House of Three, chipboard embellishments-Sassafras Lass, flower and butterfly punch-Martha Steward, fawn punch-American Girl Crafts

-B

Leave a Reply

