the Kitschen Shadowbox

23 Jun

Just a short one today-I’m sharing the art (I can call it art, right?) I created for my scrap room.  I used October Afternoon’s “Modern Homemaker” line because it was actually the original inspiration for the whole concept of my semi-kitchen theme and all of the colors involved.  I love how it turned out.  Of course, I can’t do hardly anything without including some not-too-obvious sentimental elements and this project was no exception.

First of all, as I have mentioned before, lots of many happy childhood memories I have were based in the kitchen.  The kitchen was a gathering place, home base, where all the food was prepared and in most cases, eaten (food = love, you know lol), the first room walking into the house, where there were friendly voices, amazing smells, routines, traditions, and a wonderful sense of belonging.  The chipboard woman reminds me of the younger Grandma I have seen only in photographs, except for the brunette hair, which reminds me of myself.  The “Hillside Dairy” chipboard embellishment is included because of our name (Hill) and the fact that both sets of grandparents farmed.  I myself did not live on a farm (I had it easy lol) but my dad and grandfather were milkmen for many years.  (My mom was even a milk hauler for a short time in her teens.)  The coffee pot makes me think of my paternal grandparents, who always had that giant pot on the gas stove, smelling like burnt coffee (what an awful smell when you’re a kid!).  I also included a date sticker with “April 15, ’11” on it to represent the day I got engaged, in my then-unfinished scrapbook room, 4 ft from where this shadowbox hangs.  I was tricked into coming downstairs to check the progress my man had made-its a good thing that I told a white lie about how much better it looked than the last time I had  seen it because he proceeded to get down on one knee after suggesting “ya know what would make this room look better?…”

It’s amazing how true it is that “scent is the strongest sense linked to memory”.  Over the weekend when I was driving around with my Grandma we decided, on a whim, to stop at the dairy factory where my family used to haul milk.  We pulled up and entered through the front door (it was weird only because every time I tagged along with my dad, we came in thru the back where all the trucks were unloaded and washed), and chatted with the one person still at the front desk that we were familiar with.  As soon as the door opened, I was flooded with the heat, the humidity, and the smell of sanitizers.  Couple that with the tile that covers the place, the same as it has since the beginning of time, and I felt like I was a kid again.  It might sound like an odd experience to an outsider, but it felt so good to be transported back to my childhood, to be reminded of spending the entire weekend with my dad riding around Wisconsin, visiting farms, getting giant popsicles after the day was over, and also being reminded of a small family trucking business started by my grandpa, who was still driving before he unexpectedly passed away.

I keep all of these things close because I want to remember the wonderful experiences and stories that made me.

Isn’t that what scrapbooking is all about?

-B

Leave a Reply

